It can be a struggle to see how far you've come when your mindset is still in the past. Everyone has those bad days: you ate too much or you skipped working out or you were a couch potato for the whole day. This is all okay! You can't be in workout/diet mode forever. You have to relax and take some time to ADMIRE your accomplishments. A friend of mine recently lost some weight and she confessed to me that she was looking at herself in the mirror and was pleased with what she saw. Sadly, she said it as if she were embarrassed. That's nonsense! You work hard to achieve a goal; the least you can do is admire your work! That's half the point of getting fit anyway, isn't it? You want to be the best you and if that means taking a moment out of each day to say "...wow. You're hot" then what could be more motivating! You are awesome and you need to remind yourself of that. (and fyi, I flex in the mirror and when I see how close I am to becoming Wonder Woman, I get very pleased with myself. I have no shame in this!)
The Avengers 5k at Disneyland is fast approaching! A couple of friends just finished the Disneyland Half Marathon and it made me that much more excited about November's run. Today was day one in "training". I know what my weaknesses are and plan on doing my best to diminish them. Tonight's workout consisted of interval walk/run/jog. I only ended up doing a little over a mile but it has been a couple of months since I've been running and thought it best to take it a little easy this first week. I've discovered that 5mph is my steady jog speed and plan on building on that foundation. It's going to be a tough couple of months I think but I can't wait to see what progress I make by the end! Maybe I'll even break the 9 minute mile! ....if that happens, I will ...think of something to do to celebrate!
No comments:
Post a Comment